Growing Up

As I am writing this people all over the globe are gearing up for the release of the new expansion for World of Warcraft. I should be a buzz right now but oddly enough I don’t really care. I have been playing this game since before the release. I was in the beta, got the collectors edition of the game and collectors editions of both expansion, I have a max level character and here is the kicker, I have many friends that work for blizzard so I don’t have to pay the monthly fee. All of this and I feel nothing. I don’t have time to play and even if I did it just isn’t enjoyable anymore.

This feeling nonplused for WoW also carries over to all games that aren’t loadable on my iPhone. I never thought this day would come but I have the sinking suspicions all this has come about because I am growing up.  Here are a few more signs of growing up that I have already come to terms with.

-I can’t remember the last time I bought an album

-I don’t listen to music anymore just talk radio

-teenage kids annoy me

-my body aches for no reason

I’m not sure if this is necessarily a bad thing, most all of us grow up at some point. I just hope I can retain enough interest in the video games till my sons get their first console and I can teach them a thing or two.

So Says The Hieb

Leave a comment